Home Inspections

Home Inspections2020-10-06T13:48:03-05:00
  • Single Family Home

  • Townhome

  • Condominium

  • Duplex/Triplex

  • Commercial Building

HOME INSPECTION SERVICES

As a trusted industry resource and Certified Home Inspectors of InterNACHI, we are continually learning new aspects of home systems to provide the most up-to-date and comprehensive inspections available today. During the pandemic, we are taking extra precautions to ensure the safety of our clients, agents, employees, & occupants of the homes we inspect. Our inspectors have undergone specific training and are executing best industry practices. Additionally, we are offering inspection walkthroughs via video-chat on the platform “Zoom” for those interested.

Covid-19 home inspection

What’s included in your inspection? To give you an idea, Single Family Home & Townhome inspections include the following: 

  • Roof system and chimney exterior
  • Gutters and downspouts
  • Grading and drainage
  • Walkways and driveway
  • Garage doors and safety sensors
  • Exterior cladding
  • Deck, stoops, porches and railings
  • Windows and doors
  • Attic, insulation and ventilation
  • Basement, foundation and crawlspace
  • Ceilings, floors and walls
  • Heating system
  • Cooling system
  • Plumbing system
  • Drainage sump pump with accessible float
  • Electrical system
  • Fireplace damper door and hearth

Home Inspection Blogs

Schedule Now

Call us or schedule online.

612-440-8466
Schedule Online

“Very thorough inspection and went through every step with my wife and I. We left feeling comfortable with all the big and small things that needed to be addressed. As first time homeowners this information is invaluable and made the daunting experience more enjoyable. Would highly recommend in the future. He is still giving us advice on follow up questions as they come up! Invaluable resource!”

Andrew B. , Edina

“Great service and very thorough. Our inspector provided a detailed analysis in a very organized and detailed fashion that made it easy for us to review! Highly recommend!”

Nicholas L., Minneapolis

“I absolutely would recommend this agency to anyone looking for an inspection. I called looking for a next-day inspection & although everyone was booked for the next 2-3 days, Eleisia went above & beyond to find someone who could do the inspection the next day. We worked with Todd and he was extremely detailed, professional, but also funny 🙂 – He took his time to explain everything to us and answered all of our questions. Todd completed & sent us the electronic report with pictures, the report was very easy to read & self explanatory! DEF HIGHLY RECOMMEND!”

Pamera K., New Hope

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

How invasive is the inspection?2020-02-16T14:56:36-06:00

It’s important our clients understand this is a visual inspection only. We make observations and test operational functionality of home systems and major appliances but we are not diagnosing specific issues like why the gas fireplace won’t start or why the dishwasher purrs a little too loudly. We recommend hiring industry-related professionals to diagnose these specific issues. 

If we come across a sealed attic-hatch we will need written permission from the seller to break that seal. It is always our goal to leave a property exactly as we found it unless specific requests are agreed upon (and are documented in writing) by both buyer and seller.

Is this home inspection the same as a building code inspection?2020-02-16T14:58:12-06:00

This inspection is NOT a building code inspection; building code is inspected as the property is being built. 

What items are sometimes difficult to inspect due to seasonal limitations?2020-02-16T15:06:25-06:00

Our home inspections are considered a “point in time” inspection; there may be items we are unable to inspect on a given day, like: the roof due to snow/rain, the air conditioning system because the temperature is too cold to operate it safely without damage to components, and some of the exterior as it was also covered by snow.

It is our goal to provide you with the most comprehensive home inspection available on a given day while also considering the safety and well-being of our inspectors.

What do I have to fix once I receive the inspection report?2020-02-16T15:08:07-06:00

There is nothing in our inspection report that has to be done. Our report findings are or you and your realtor or other advisors to go through and determine what steps you would like to take next. Our goal is to inform you, not to rate a house. 

 

What happens if I have a question months after my inspection?2020-02-16T15:15:50-06:00

It’s not unusual for clients to call us months after their inspection with a home-related question and we always do our best to help!

Do I need to attend the inspection?2020-02-16T15:36:53-06:00

We prefer you not attend the whole inspection but rather just the “inspection walkthrough” which happens the last hour or so of your inspection window.

Once you’ve scheduled your inspection, you should receive a confirmation email indicating the precise time you should arrive for your inspection walkthrough. (The walkthrough usually takes 45-60 minutes, depending on the age and size of the property.)

Your inspector will use the “walkthrough” time to provide you (and your realtor or other advisors present) a summary of the most significant inspection findings displayed on a tablet. You will have ample time to ask your inspector questions.

Your inspector will continue to work on your report following the walkthrough. We must ensure all images and video taken onsite are uploaded with specific comments to best help you understand our recommendations. Your report will be emailed to you as soon as it is ready later that same day, often late-evening, assuming payment has been confirmed.

When will my inspection report be ready?2020-02-16T15:42:50-06:00

Our inspectors work very hard to complete their inspection reports the same day the inspection was performed (oftentimes this means it will arrive late in the evening).

During your inspection walkthrough, you will have the opportunity to review a summary of major findings but the actual FULL report will not be completed until later in the day. Your inspector must ensure all images and video taken onsite are uploaded with specific comments to best help you understand the recommendations.

Your report will be emailed to you (and your realtor if specified) as soon as it is ready later that same day, often late-evening, assuming payment has been confirmed.

How do I pay?2020-02-16T15:51:18-06:00

Thanks for asking!

You have 3 options:

  • Bank Transfer
  • Cash
  • Check

We will email you an invoice (typically the day prior to your inspection) that includes a link for you to pay simply via bank transfer if you wish, or you may bring cash/check to the inspection walkthrough.

Please note our inspectors may not release their final reports until payment has been confirmed.

 

Oops, I forgot to include radon testing, can I still add it?2020-02-16T16:12:48-06:00

No problem at all! You have a couple options when it comes to adding any additional service to your existing inspection:

  • Call us at (612) 440-8466 to add another service to your inspection
  • Email us and in the subject line, simply write: “PLEASE ADD RADON TESTING TO MY INSPECTION” or whatever service you wish to add-on

You should receive a new confirmation email reflecting the change. Most likely your walkthrough will be pushed back by 30 minutes to allow for radon testing or 60 minutes, if a moisture intrusion investigation is added.

*Radon testing requires 48 hours so if you have a next-day inspection, we’ll have to set your radon during your inspection and pick it up two days or 48 hours later. Your radon test results will be emailed to you the day we pick-up the unit(s).

 

 

What cities are included in your service area?2020-10-16T10:54:08-05:00

We service the Twin Cities and surrounding metro area including, but not limited to the following cities: Eden Prairie, Chanhassen, Chaska, Maple Grove, Plymouth, Minnetonka, Wayzata, Minneapolis, St. Paul, Hopkins, Edina, Richfield, Shakopee, Savage, Prior Lake, Bloomington, Burnsville, Eagan, Apple Valley, Lakeville, Rosemount, Woodbury, Oakdale, Maplewood, Roseville, Blaine, Golden Valley, and St. Louis Park.

If you are outside our normal service area (40 miles any direction from Bloomington), an additional travel fee may apply and will be visible to you in the online scheduler. Please don’t hesitate to call (612) 440-8466 or email with specific questions!

SCHEDULE NOW!

Click here to schedule your inspection